Sudipta Das

Dr. Sudipta Das

Ramalingaswami Fellow

  • Ramalingaswami Fellow, 2018-Present
  • Senior Postdoctoral Research Scientist, Drexel University, Philadelphia, USA, 2016-2018
  • Postdoctoral research scholar, Drexel University College of Medicine, Philadelphia, USA, 2012-2016
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India, 2010-2012
  • Ph.D Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, University of Mumbai, 2006-2011
    • Exploring non-ribosomal functions of ribosomal P proteins in maintaining membrane lipid asymmetry in the plasma membrane of Plasmodium falciparum
    • Unravelling molecular mechanism of asymmetric cell division in malaria parasites
    • Mechanism of drug resistance in Plasmodium falciparum
    • Protein structure and small molecule design
    • Targeting hypothetical proteins in the search for better anti-malarial drug targets
    • Intrinsically disordered nature of protein and their role in transcription regulation
  • This is a new malaria research laboratory. Enthusiastic, hardworking and curious minds are always welcome preferably with their own fellowships from national and international funding agencies.

    • Ramalingaswami Fellowship, Department of Biotechnology, India, 2018-2023
    • Infosys Fellowship, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, 2017-2020, not accepted
    • Travel award, Gordon Research Conference, Italy, 2011
    • Travel award, IFCPAR/CEFIPRA (Indo-French), Pasteur Institute, Lille, France, 2009
    • Travel award, Global Infectious Disease Research training workshop, SBRI-USA, 2008
    • Research training fellowship, CCMB, Hyderabad, 2003
    • Best postdoctoral fellow poster award, Molecular Parasitology Meeting, Drexel University, 2017
    • Best postdoctoral fellow poster award, Molecular Parasitology Meeting, Drexel University, 2015
    • Outstanding young scientist, Gordon Research Conference, Italy, 2011
    • Best Poster, Global Infectious Disease Research training workshop, Hyderabad, 2008
    • Topper in M.Sc Microbiology, 2004
    1. Plasmodium falciparum Niemann-Pick Type C1-Related Protein is a Druggable Target Required for Parasite Membrane Homeostasis Eva S. Istvan*, Sudipta Das*, Victoria C. Corey, Suyash Bhatnagar, Josh R. Beck, Suresh M. Ganesan, Jacquin C. Niles, Elizabeth A. Winzeler, Akhil B. Vaidya, Daniel E. Goldberg (Submitted to BioRxiv, doi: under review, Aug.2018 * Joint first author
    1. Na+ Influx induced by New Antimalarials Causes Rapid Alterations in the Cholesterol Content and Morphology of Plasmodium falciparum. PLoS Pathogens, May 26; 12(5):e1005647, 2016. PMID: 27227970 Das S, Bhatanagar S, Morrisey JM, Daly TM, Burns Jr JM, Coppens I, Vaidya AB
    1. Pyrazoleamide Compounds are Potent Anti-malarials that Target Na+ Homeostasis in Intraerythrocytic Plasmodium falciparum. Nature Communication. 5:5521, 2014, Vaidya AB, Morrisey JM, Zhang Z, Das S, Daly TM, et al., (PMID: 25422853)
    1. Arrest of nuclear division in Plasmodium through blockage of erythrocyte surface exposed ribosomal protein P2. PLoS Pathogens. 8(8): e1002858, 2012. Das S, Basu H, Korde R, Tewari R, Sharma S (PMID: 22912579).
    1. Erythrocytic stage dependent regulation of oligomerization of Plasmodium ribosomal protein P2. J. Biol. Chem. 287(49), 41499-41513. 2012 Das S, Rajagopal S, Sivakami S, Sharma S (PMID: 23060439)
    1. NMR insights into folding and self-association of Plasmodium falciparum P2. PLoS One. 7(5): e36279.2012 Mishra P, Das S, Panicker L, Hosur MV, Sharma S, Hosur RV (PMID: 22567147).
  • Title: Novel malarial parasite infected RBC surface protein and its potential usage as a drug target and as a vaccine candidate.

    Authors: Shobhona Sharma and Sudipta Das

    Patent number: 1773/MUM/2011. Filling ref no. PAA 1227/SG/PC/300611, Filed on: 17/06/2011

    • Member of American Society for Microbiology (ASM)
    • Nominated member of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
    • Member of British Society for Parasitology
    • Molecular Parasitology meeting, Woodshole, Massachusetts, USA, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017
    • American Society for Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH), Philadelphia, USA, 2015
    • Department of Biological Sciences, TIFR, India, 2014, 2015, 2016
    • Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India, June, 2016